Win tickets to Redneck Manifesto @ The Button Factory Aug 25 is giving away two pairs of tickets to two lucky winners to Dublin quartet The Redneck Manifesto live at the Button Factory on August 25!


Answer the simple question above to enter the competition.

The Redneck Manifesto formed in August 1998 as a four piece composed of members of several prominent Dublin bands – Niall Byrne came from Jackbeast, Richie Egan fromBlack Belt Jones and Matthew Bolger from The Waltons. Mervyn Craig came from the Dundalk band Hylton Weir. Neil O'Connor would join the band in 2003 coming from theConnect 4 Orchestra. The band first started playing gigs across Dublin and soon released a number of 7" singles on their own Greyslate label; as well as a split 7" released on Road Relish.

It was their debut album 'Thirty Six Strings' that first harnessed the power of their passionate and well rehearsed live shows. The album was recorded by Alan O'Boyle (Decal/Legion of Two) and released as a joint venture with French label Red F Records in 2001. It was warmly received by press and fans alike and was acclaimed 'Irish album of the year' for 2001 by the Event Guide (Dublin).

In March 2002 the band undertook their first headline European tour. In a bid to help defray tour costs they released a companion piece to 'Thirty Six Strings' in the form of an extended EP 'Cut Your Heart Off From Your Head'. Again recorded with producer Alan O'Boyle this showed the Redneck sound changing subtly. Equally receiving very favourable reviews and again being self-released the band found it difficult to keep up with the sales demands the EP placed on them.