Dublin rockers Delorentos won Irish Album of 2012 at the Meteor Choice Music Awards on Thursday night in a packed Vicar Street. Their third album Little Sparks picked up the award and the €10,000 prize money, beating off other nominees such as Two Door C

Highly rated singer/songwriter Gavin James picked up the award for best Irish Song of the Year with his song Say Hello. 

Although only 9 out of 10 nominated acts performed, there was sterling performances by Heathers, Wallis Bird, Adrian Crowley, Windings, Julie Feeney, Damien Dempsey, Mumblin Deaf Ro, Delorentos and The Cast of Cheers on the night. 

2010 winners Two Door Cinema Club were the only act out of the Irish Album of the Year nominees who did not perform, as they had touring commitments in Germany.

The Irish Song of the Year nominees included The Coronas, The Script, SOAK, Delorentos, Glen Hansard, Heathers, Le Galaxie, Kodaline, Villagers and eventual winner Gavin James.

The €10,000 prize money for Irish Album of the Year was provided by the Irish Recorded Music Association (IRMA) and Irish Music Rights Organisation (IMRO), along with the specially commissioned award for Irish Song of the Year.

The Irish Album of the year award was picked by a panel of judges from various members of the media in Ireland, while the Irish Song of the Year was chosen by the public via text and online voting.

The events proceedings was hosted by Today FM’s Paul Mcloone, who also broadcasted the event through his radio show.

Delorentos dedicated the award to drummer Ross McCormack’s late mother who passed away recently.