Hurling all-stars – the choice

Colm Callanan (Galway) 
Callanan has been brilliant between the posts all year with his triple save against Tipperary in the semi-final being a stand out moment. 
Full back line 
Cathal Barrett (Tipperary) 
Last year’s young hurler of the year came back into the Tipperary side after an injury but didn’t let that hinder him. Was one of the few shining lights for Tipp throughout the season. 
Joey Holden (Kilkenny) 
The first of our Kilkenny selections is well deserving of the award. The Ballyhale man was nothing short of outstanding in the full-back role in the 2015 championship. 
Paul Murphy (Kilkenny)
Murphy is picking up his fourth All Star at the ceremony and it’s not hard to see why. He is Mr Consistent in the Kilkenny team and at 26 years of age, was a real leader this year. 
Half back line 
Daithi Burke (Galway) 
Produced some outstanding displays for Galway throughout the year. Managed to keep Richie Hogan quiet enough by his standards in the final which is no easy task. 
Tadhg de Burca (Waterford) 
Played the sweeper role for Waterford this year which was key to their defensive strategy. Hard to believe he is only 20 years of age. Plenty more to give to his county. 
Cillian Buckley (Kilkenny)
Without doing anything overly spectacular for Kilkenny this year, Buckley still managed to play a central role in their defence. Really stood up in the semi-final when Kilkenny needed it most. 
David Burke (Galway)
One of Galway’s best players throughout the year. Produced a fine display against Tipperary and in the final, was one of the only Galway players to maintain that high level of performance. 
Michael Fennelly (Kilkenny) 
Man of the match in the final against Galway. Scored some wonderful points and is now a key leader in that Kilkenny team. Hard to believe his training was limited because of a back injury. 
Half forward line 
John O’Dwyer (Tipperary) 
Was kept very quiet in the semi-final thanks to Daithi Burke but had some fantastic performances before that. Only 24 years of age, he is one of the key men in the Tipp forward line. 
Richie Hogan (Kilkenny) 
May not of reached the heights of 2014 but still did enough to earn himself a hurler of the year nomination again. Ran himself into the ground in the final, really stood up when Kilkenny needed him. 
TJ Reid (Kilkenny) 
Clear favourite for hurler of the year. Scored 4-32 in four games for the Cats including some fantastic frees. More notably those scores that came when Kilkenny were on the backfoot. A true leader of the team. 
Full forward line 
Jason Flynn (Galway)
One of the superstars to emerge for Galway this year. Was outstanding agaisnt Cork and brought that form into the semi-final. Also was a key man for the u21’s in 2015. 
Seamus Callanan (Tipperary)
His performance in the semi-final, scoring 3-4, will last long in the memories of hurling fans. An extremely talented player who is central to every good play for Tipp. 
Maurice Shanahan (Waterford)
Waterford can afford to have a defensive setup when they have a sharpshooter like Shanahan up front to do the business for them. Free taking was fantastic and his overall performances, outstanding. 
Player of the Year: TJ Reid